KAMET 2006

KAMET 2006

Area:Central Garhwal

Height:7756 m

Team :Indian (The Himalayan Club (Kolkata Section))

Leader:AVM (Retd.) A. K. Bhattacharyya


The Tata Steel-sponsored expedition to Kamet (7756 m) was organized in May-June-July 2006. The other members, all from the HC Kolkata, were : Gautam Ghosh (deputy leader), Jayanta Chattopadhyay, Subrata Chakraborty, Pradeep Ch.Sahoo, Debajyoti Bhattacharya, Debraj Dutta, Tapas Sanyal, Subrata Santra, Shibnath Basu, Subhasis Roy, Rupjoy Dewan. Four Sherpas and two high altitude friends (porters) were included as climbing members of the team.

The team planned to retrace the footsteps of the first successful team lead by Frank S Smythe in 1931 and hence the traditional Meade Col route was selected for the climb, with an intended summit date close to 21st June in line with that of the 1931 ascent.

The summit team comprised of 4 members and 6 support climbers : Gautam Ghosh (deputy leader), Jayanta Chattapadhyay, Subrata Chakraborty, Pradeep Ch.Sahoo, Mingma Sherpa, Lhakpa Sherpa, Dawa Sherpa, Lama Sherpa, Devinder Singh Rana, Kapil Rana.

The summit of Kamet [7756 m] was reached on 24th June 2006, after establishing five camps between the base and summit. All the members of the summit team reached the top, thus representing a satisfying commemorative expedition.